Admissions

Dates and Deadline Financial Institutions Program Cost Admission Requirements

HCA Day Time Program Schedule

January 28, 2019 to September 23, 2019
(Full-Time Day Classes – 32 Weeks Without Breaks, 35 Weeks with Breaks)

 
Theory Courses (355 hours) – Kelowna
Dates: Monday, January 28, 2019 to Thursday, May 16, 2019, inclusive
Hours: Monday to Thursday, inclusive from 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. daily
 
Student Practice Education Core Orientation (SPECO) – (6 hours) – West Kelowna
Date:  Monday, May 27, 2019
 
Lab Course (120 hours) – West Kelowna
Dates:  Tuesday, May 28, 2019 to Wednesday, June 26, 2019, inclusive
Hours:  Monday to Thursday, inclusive from 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. daily   
 
Practice Education - Kelowna
1. Complex Care or Multi-Level Care (210 hours)
Approximate dates: Monday, July 15, 2019 to Friday, August 30, 2019
Hours:  Monday through Thursday (day or evening shifts – students must be available for all shifts)
(Number of shifts, dates and times are subject to change based on placement site availability)
Notes: Clinical Placement (Instructor-led) 210 hours – Approximately 7 Weeks
 
2. Assisted Living, Home Support or Group Home (60 hours)
Approximate dates:  Between Monday September 9, 2019 and Friday, September 20, 2019
Hours:  Monday to Thursday (day or evening shifts – students must be available for all shifts)
(Number of shifts, dates and times are subject to change based on placement site availability)
Notes: Preceptorship 60 Hours - Approximately 2 Weeks
 
Debriefing and Employment Preparation – West Kelowna
Date:  Monday, September 23, 2019
Students will debrief about their total First College HCA experience.  First College will provide employment resources for students, including resources to prepare a resume, a covering letter, and interview preparation after students complete the Program.

 
Breaks/No Classes
 
Victoria Day – Monday, May 20, 2019 to Thursday, May 23, 2019
Canada Day – Monday, July 1, 2019 to Thursday, July 4, 2019
Labour Day – Monday, September 2, 2019 to Thursday September 5, 2019
 
Notes: All dates are subject to change.  Students will be notified by email and by Instructors in advance of any changes.
 
Optional
 
Food Safe Course (8 hours) – Kelowna 
Date:  Tuesday, Feburary 19, 2019 (subject to change based on instructor availability)
 
CPR/First Aid Course (16 hours) – Kelowna
Dates: Wednesday and Thursday, February 20 and 21, 2019 (subject to change based on instructor availability)